PDA

View Full Version : Total newbie question about amp and speakers.

gareth886
09-02-2009, 09:03 PM
Hi all, I hope everyone has had a good new year and are starting to see the booking rolling back in after the January slump.

I have a few questions to run by this forum full of experts and hope someone can help me or give advice. I have recently been given some equipment by the family of local DJ who passed away and I suspect/know the equipment is quite old.

The speakers are 300W Carlsboro speakers powered by what seems like an old MXF 400 amp. The sound quality out of the speakers are very good though, with the exception of the lack of stereo sound. Obviously stereo sound is fairly vital in any decent setup so I was wondering would a new amp sort out the lack of stereo?

It may also be worth mentioning that the cables that plug into the speakers directly from the amp are the round XLR cables (I assume this isn't standard anymore). Can anyone offer any advice? What are my options? Should I just forget about the whole lot and just buy new speakers and amp?

Hope this makes sense, as mentioned in the thread title, I'm a newbie when it comes to the technical side of things.

Danieleastwood.com
09-02-2009, 09:15 PM
Gareth, Hi and welcome.

Ideally, you should have posted this in the tech section of the site, but as you're new, I'm sure everyone will let you off this once. lol

To answer to your stereo question, We are going to need a little more info from you...
Can I ask if each speaker is being fed seperately? Ie, a cable from one output on the amp to one speaker and a cable from the other output on the amp to the other speaker?

Do you have two cables also running into the ampl from your mixer?

And finally.. Is there a mono button on the mixer that might be pressed in?

Hopefully, be able to set you on the right path once we know about those things.

Dan

DeckstarDeluxe
09-02-2009, 09:21 PM
Do you have any pictures of the equipment in question?