PDA

View Full Version : What Watt? eh?

womble
09-03-2009, 09:31 AM
Sorry for the simpleton questions but I'm a newbie, and with all the talk on here of blowing speakers and overheating amps, it seems all to easy and now I'm scared of doing my first gig!

If I have a 1000w amp and 2x 300w RMS speakers does that mean I should only be running my amp at 60% capacity so as not to overload the speakers?

Also - with that setup what kind of room size should I be looking at as a maximum? I'm guessing I'm not going to be doing the MEN Arena without an upgrade... *winky thing*

Ta,
Chris.

Tom
09-03-2009, 11:04 AM
Its not all about watts. You need to know the resistance (ohms) of the speakers also.

You say you have 300 watt speakers. Are these 4 or 8 ohms?

Maby if you tell us what amp and speakers you use then people will know your system to give advice. :)

As for power (watts) I would use an amp that is 400 watts rms at either 4 or 8 ohms, depending on what the speakers are and back down the amp. This means you can run the full rms in to the speaker to get the most output.

You will not blow your speakers up like this. The only way you will kill your speakers is if you clip the amp, get a distorted signal in the input and output from the mixer, or if you add too much eq, which would then increase the gain.

As for setups, 300 watts will be fine for most gigs. At the end of the day its not the watts you want to look at, its the efficiency. The higher the max spl, the louder the speaker will be.

If you need output, then just a pair of bass bins and this will increase the overall sound.

To the human ear, 3db is twice a loud, just so you know.

womble
09-03-2009, 12:24 PM
I have the Class D SP12SP speakers 300W RMS, max spl is 122dB, 8Ohm impedance.