PDA

View Full Version : Denon DN-HD2500 - Problem last night.

Shakermaker Promotions
28-03-2009, 08:40 AM
Hi all,

Just a couple of things to mention about the system last night. I wondered if anyone else had encountered something like this?

Firstly, I noticed that the 'USB' indicator on the screen was flashing quite a lot. I've never noticed this before and it might be something that happens when you select a track from the external HD? Could it be something else though? Maybe a dodgy USB lead or dare I say it...could it be the external HD itself? The HD itself is a 3.5 IDE housed in an Integral case. I can't remember the spindle speed or anything else and I don't want to tamper with it but I know it's decent as I asked loads of questions on here before I purchased it.

Secondly, and this is probably going to sound silly but it's my only theory. I am no computer expert. Can smoke or dust effect the unit/HD? The reason I ask is that during the evening the system shut down and reset itself halfway through a track. I was using smoke very near to where I was as I was in a pretty cramped space. To me, it's seems the obvious explanation as it happened last week in the same place and again, when I was using smoke. It has NEVER happened before and NEVER happened when I am using haze.

Am I being stupid, barking up the wrong tree etc etc?
The smoke scenario can be sorted easily so can a new USB cable.

Any ideas?
Thanks in advance.
G

Tom
28-03-2009, 08:51 AM
Hello Gary.

I had the same problem with mine before I sold it.

Do you have the latest firmware update?

Also I would think about changing your powered usb hub. I had an advent one which was causing problems as you are describing. I changed this for a more expensive belkin one which fixed the problem.

Have you done a defrag recently?

Are all your tags correct?