PDA

View Full Version : What's a Dimmer Pack ???

plainman007
04-04-2009, 07:38 AM
Hi guys,

Im relatively new to dmx lighting and am trying to grasp the basics.

A dimmer pack is a device we use to control conventional lighting such as pars etc ? SInce they are generic lights the dimmer pack basically adds outboard dmx control am i right ? Or wrong ?

Thanks...

OllieJames
04-04-2009, 08:20 AM
A dimmer pack gives you the ability to dim lighting (normal pars). However, with DMX, a DMX controller is what you are after. This then gives you the ability to control every parameter of a DMX compatible unit.

Bear in mind that if the DMX light has a channel for dimming, this is achievable with a DMX controller too.

Hope this helps :)

Vectis
04-04-2009, 10:07 AM
I think the OP's interpretation is correct.

A DMX dimmer pack allows the dimming/switching of "conventional" lighting, eg. PARs, under DMX control. But that's all. No colour changing, positioning, any of those good things.

Grahame Case
04-04-2009, 01:15 PM
can i also mention that you should NEVER EVER put intelligent light fixtures on Dimmer power, they should always be on Switched sockets, not Dimmer.

plainman007
04-04-2009, 04:15 PM
Yes As Vectisvibe says. I undertsood that generic fixtures (with no channel features etc , things that work like normal house bulbs) could be controlled by using a dmx dimmer pack. Now if i was to use a total of 12 pars. 6 on each side of the stage for a live show. If each par was 1200 watts then what sort of dmx pack should i look for and how much. How do i pick power ratings of the pack ?

Thanks..

Chris1984
05-04-2009, 09:58 PM
Do you mean 1000w lamps?
Then you will need 6000w of power a side which means you will need a 32a per side, or if running a dimmer centrally you will need a 63a connection and the relevant cabling (ideally soca) to each bank of 6.
So for a disco it is less than practical.