PDA

View Full Version : Info needed for NOVICE re DMX!

kmssounds
17-06-2009, 08:33 AM
Hi, I

I am very new to the Roadshow industry and have had to hire mac 250 kryptons with a light engineer for sometime.

I have seen him using a laptop to control the lights and i'm wanting to set this up myself.

I will be dry hiring the lights but would need my own laptop which I have and any other equipment I will need.

My question is:
What will I need to set this up?
How hard is to set up scenes and can i download them from anyware?
How much should I be paying to get a dmx controller program?

Any help would be fab!

Cheers

Danno13
17-06-2009, 08:48 AM
Hi, please have a read of this topic - http://www.mobilediscodirectory.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=11711

DMX wise, I'd recomend daslight for PC use, standard dongle is around £250, or the American DJ DMX is supposed to be good too and is around £100.

Both of these will have a fixture file for the MAC250s, allowing you to access all it's functions. You'll have to make the scenes yourself, but it's really not that difficult.

Larry B Entertainment
17-06-2009, 10:39 AM
I would go with the ADJ one. The dongle is £75 from CPC. You can download the software free from the American DJ site. It lacks sound to light features but you still get alot of control over the lights plus it has profiles for thousands of fixtures you may want to add later on.
Its what we use for the moving heads and I think its spot on.

Vectis
17-06-2009, 10:46 AM
Be aware that the ADJ has been discontinued and there will be no further software development aside from a few patches to maintain compatibility with future windows service packs etc.

Daslight is the way to go. A little more expensive than ADJ but if you're only talking a couple of movers then the entry-level 128M box will be fine at circa £150.

kmssounds
17-06-2009, 10:56 AM
So once I have downloaded the software can i start making scenes or do I have to have the macs plugged in?