PDA

View Full Version : Do I Need Fog/Smoke or not

sprog
16-07-2009, 06:47 PM
Hi There

It's the Newbie here again.

I have a question for you seasoned pros Do I need Fog or Smoke for my light show to be a success?

I Have A stairville Maniac which I know works well withiut fog as I have already used it. But I have know purchased to Martin mx4's which I havent used yet.
I'm still in the process of getting shows I have done a couple and I have one next week where I plan to use the MX4's. The show is only in a Small room hired out in a pub, Do I need smoke or fog or will they be ok without?

Also if I do use fog do you use it down low or attach it to your lighting bar.
The only reason I ask this is that I have never used one before and I notice that most fog machines have a fixing bracket like the one's on my lights.

Please remember I'm New treat me gently.

Sprog

Dynamic Entertainment
16-07-2009, 06:58 PM
You dont need haze/smoke go get a good show, but it does enhance it.

As for the hanging bracket, some do have them, others dont. They can be hung, but if they are they need to be above head hight (so as not to fire in peoples face) or have it floor standing so the smoke filters up.

SC Events
16-07-2009, 07:04 PM
As Steve said, it's not essential but I always use it if I can as it adds the extra wow factor rather than just patterns moving and changing colour around the room.

Charlie Brown
16-07-2009, 07:13 PM
Nah, you need it. Makes everything look 100 times better! You can get a cheap one for £30. :)

DeckstarDeluxe
16-07-2009, 07:18 PM
Personally I have my smoke machines on the floor. Ive used a skytec one for a couple of years that was only £45. Im in the market for something better but for the price its served me well.

Charlie Brown
16-07-2009, 07:32 PM