PDA

View Full Version : DMX Acme Dynamo's Problem

thex-faders
10-08-2009, 11:19 PM
Hi all, did a quick serarch but didnt find much to help me.

Lighting rig now made up of:
Dynamo 100 watt
LED Dynarock
LED Dynarock
Dynamo 100 watt
2 x Colourbursts

Linked in this order via DMX and a Starville DMX Master I

Have set up a number of scenes and can control them all... except the Acme Dynamo's... I cant get them to do a full motion. What i mean is i cant get the mirror to say move from bottom to top position in one motion?

For example the Dynarocks have a roll motion with varios speed but the dynamos just have a pan and tilt but not a full movement?

I hope this makes sense. For now i have the scenes set up with dynamos in various static locations so that they move around the room, but would like them to move in a full motion via controller

Cheers for any advice as im new to DMX.... but love it so far!

Vectis
10-08-2009, 11:51 PM
Have a tinker with Fade Time.

Example:

Step 1 - Light off, mirror dead centre.
Step 2 - mirror pointing straight up, light set to white open.
Step 3 - mirror pointing straight down, light still set to white open.
Step 4 - light off.
Fade time set to say 3 seconds.

Run should see the mirror go to the top, the light come on, the mirror sweep down to the bottom taking 3 seconds to do so.

Simples :p

thex-faders
11-08-2009, 10:29 PM
Thanks Vectis!

Will program them like this once I get more time. For now i just have the mirror in various different places in scenes and it seems to look ok!

Does this mean there is no setting for a full sweep then on the dynamo's?

Vectis
12-08-2009, 03:05 PM
Does this mean there is no setting for a full sweep then on the dynamo's?

DMX doesn't work like that. All it can do is change the state of a value 0-255 in a register.