PDA

View Full Version : DJ-ing On A Laptop

dj_ags
22-07-2006, 07:33 PM
As i have proved on another thread, i am a complete novice to PC DJ-ing, so could a few of you who are experts on it give me a bit of advice.

Im just wondering really what is the best software to use for PC DJ-ing as my dad and I are thinking of going PC based rather than CD based which we are now!

Also, i am wondering if there is a better way of improving sound quality other than using an external soundcard?

Finally, i have been told that as soon as we make the transition to PC, we won't revert back to using CD Decks! Is this the general opinion between the PC DJ-ers amongst us?

Help appreciated in advance :)

soundlad
22-07-2006, 09:16 PM
virtual dj and sam broardcaster are some of the best out there!!!

I use this on my disco, it good beacase you can expand harddisks etc.....

http://intldirect.com/ebay/shuttle/xpc/g5690/11.jpg

pchapman74
22-07-2006, 10:48 PM
I have also just started dj'ing. I use PCDJ FX. It is a very good peice of software. I have a dedicated Laptop and an external 320gb hard drive. I also use a Gigaport connection to connect the pc to my amp. It works well and is very easy to use.

Check out PCDJ.co.uk

Thames Valley Discos
23-07-2006, 10:33 AM
I love it, will not be reverting back to cd. Make sure you rip your cd,s at 192 Kb or above and always back up your main HDD. Good luck.

Candybeatdiscos
23-07-2006, 10:34 AM
hey mate - for past year or two i have used ATOMIX software - very easy ti use and great for automixing / track selection etc, etc. Also i do recommend that you grab yourself an exteral soundcard in order to better your quality - i always thought mines was ok till the guys hear suggested getting one, the quality blew me away

BeerFunk
23-07-2006, 11:46 AM