PDA

View Full Version : How much power to fill a room with sound?

REVOLUTIONS
18-08-2006, 12:26 PM
Hello

I'm new to this game & would appreciate some pointers into the power requirements of amps & speakers. I'm looking into JBL/Crown combo's but how much wattage will I need for small, medium and large scale events?

I know this is a broad question but I'm looking for a ball park idea on how many speakers & amps I'll need.

Many Thanks

BeerFunk
18-08-2006, 12:31 PM
Extremely hard to say, but one thing I will say is that the number of people at the event is a bigger factor than the size of the hall. A packed small hall will need more power than an empty large hall.

I normally use a 300W amp with 500W speakers, and they can comfortably handle to 200/250 people, in a decent sized hall :)

Paul James Promotions
18-08-2006, 12:32 PM
Hi,

Welcome to the forum :D

For general disco use, up to around 300 people, a good 1000w RMS PA system will be sufficient.

What sort of budget do you have for the system? Also, how will you transport the equipment?

Regards,

Jamie

P.S. Why not introduce yourself in the 'Newbies' area? :)

REVOLUTIONS
18-08-2006, 12:40 PM
Hi

Thanks for the feedback.

I plan on using top quality gear to give me the edge in terms of sound quality. I'm looking at Pioneer CD players, Allen & Heath mixer & Technics turntables fitted with upgraded Origin Live arms (plus the JBL & Crown speaker/amps combo's).

I've not looked into lighting yet. I'm planning on getting started over the next couple of months using the profit from a house sale which is currently going through.

My mode of transport will be a medium sized van which I can also use to get me to my day job.

I have a large collection of CD's & records (working in a record shop feeds my record buying habbit).

How do you feel about using mp3's or wav files from a laptop during a set? I have Ableton Live 5 software. Do customers expect to see a DJ with CD's & vinyl?

Thanks

Paul James Promotions