PDA

View Full Version : DMX Lighting

jwpentgroup
24-08-2006, 07:12 PM
I'm quite interested in DMX lighting.. but i'm a complete newbie and don't have a clue where to start.

http://www.prolight.co.uk/images/products/movies/343_4.wmv

I found this video from another disco website as a demo to what lights they use. Any ideas what these lights are called? (model)

How are DMX lights controlled?

Any advice will be appreciated.

lightspeed
24-08-2006, 07:25 PM
The lights in the video are Prolight I-Rock 7S Scanners. Think they're the discharge ones. For these particular ones (or any light in the I-solution range) Prolight make a nifty controller called an i-lead integration controller (http://www.prolight.co.uk/product_more_info.php?hdnProductID=345) . Alternatively you could use any other universal DMX controller (http://www.prolight.co.uk/product_more_info.php?hdnProductID=593) or just link them up and have them running sound to light.

Hope this helps.

- Chris

DMX Will
24-08-2006, 08:18 PM
DMX (digital multiplex) is a protocol (language) that some disco lights "speak and understand". The fixtures (lights) listen out for signal instructions on their selected channels (which you select for each different fixture). A DMX controller (of which many are available for disco use) sends signals down a dmx line to the lights. Most DJ controllers have about 128-256 control channels available, which is plenty, considering your average DJ lantern has 3-5 control channels.

You wire your lights up in a daisy chain

DMX Controller Out > Fixture 1 IN > OUT > Fixture 2 IN > Out > Fixture 3 IN > OUT >
and so on...
Standard DMX connections are in the form of 5 or 3 pin XLR. Although most (99.9%) of disco related fixtures use the standard 3 pin).

The advantage