PDA

View Full Version : Active Speakers Mackie/RCF/Kam? - help!!

alexperrins
27-08-2006, 02:12 PM
Hi all, bit of a long one, but any help would be appreciated :teeth:

I'm a bit of a newbie and I'm looking to buy active speakers for my set up. I have really only DJ'd at parties before now for friends and relatives at weddings and birthdays, but now I'm booked for a couple of weddings and I really need a reliable set of speakers.

Firstly, portability is an issue, and I could do with a quick set up time, which is why I'm looking at the active speaker market - however, are there any downsides of going active rather than passive that I should know of?

The three main speakers I have looked at are the Mackie SRM350s, the RCF ART 310As and the KAM IMS-PRO15As. The JBL Eon G10s are I think a little out of my price range, unless somebody can convince me they are worth it.
For information, I will probably be performing for around 150 people max in village hall sized venues. If anybody has any recommendations, please let me know!!

Now, the KAMs have a 15" drivers but are obviously larger. I am worried that the Mackies and RCFs won't have enough base/power. I am aware the Mackies are only 195watts each but apparently they are very efficient, especially with their bass boost system. Does anybody have any opinions on this? The KAMs are 400w each, which is nearly twice the power - but I have no idea on their sound quality.

To conclude!! Are my choices suitable and is there anything else I should look at?

Many thanks

Alex

wensleydale
27-08-2006, 02:49 PM
i have unpowered rcf 312s and jbl eon 15s.
first question would be do you really need powered speakers or could you consider using a separate amp which is a bit more verstile in case one part of it breaks and allows more flexibility.