PDA

View Full Version : Embarrassing Schoolboy Error With Cortex DMIX 300..........Please Help!

Eski75
30-04-2011, 07:32 PM
Aspiring newbie here. Took delivery of my Cortex DMIX 300 today, only to find that I couldn't get anything to play from my IPOD and that it wasn't recognising any data from it, except for the artists and album names if I took the path, File Browser - Itunes.

Having spent half my evening trying to work it out, I think I've cracked it, but don't now know what to do about it!

Q.1 Is it because all my music on my IPOD is in AAC Format?

Q.2 If so, I guess I have to convert EVERYTHING to wav or MP3?

Q.3 If this is so, any free software out there to do it and how do these tunes then sit back in my Ipod

Sorry if to many of you this is a really simple concept.......but I'm about to take a hammer to it! :mad:

Vectis
30-04-2011, 09:27 PM
Never touched a Cortex product in my life.

What does the manual say about file formats? I'm sure you'll find your answer there.

If you do have to go the MP3 route (highly likely methinks) then there's squillions of products out there to do it. It sounds like you're an iTunes user - in which case you can select a bunch of files, right click, save as MP3. But make sure you set the defaults first as IIRC it'll try to write them at 128K or whatever unless you increase it.

Excalibur
01-05-2011, 12:28 AM
Never touched a Cortex product in my life.

No need to apologise, Martin. ;) :D
Cortex accepts MP3, WAV, and CD Audio.

We touched on this very point, while trying to help Chris Peacock with his Cortex 3000

Edit: And while we're on about schoolboy errors, there was a member on here laughing his socks off at one I made recently. I really shoud have known better. :o :o :o

Eski75
01-05-2011, 09:14 AM
Is that function to "save as MP3" in the Itunes taskbar? I can't seem to find it.