PDA

View Full Version : QTX QR12PA Issues



Dynamic Entertainment
22-06-2011, 09:43 AM
Right guys....ive found some issues with the QTX QR12PA. :(

1. The RCA "In" and "Out" are wired up in a really screwed up way...not just labelled up in the wrong way...but screwed up...i get the best sound running an iPod into a single mono channel and the same for the output.

2. I bought the QR12A (normal powered speaker), with a view to having it as a bit of reinforcement...however, only the audio is routed through the RCA Outputs, not the mic's....which is a bit useless :(

Corabar Steve
22-06-2011, 09:55 AM
Just a thought, which output are you coming out of your mixer with your RCA connectors?

Dynamic Entertainment
22-06-2011, 09:59 AM
Just a thought, which output are you coming out of your mixer with your RCA connectors?

Erm....none. The QTX QR12PA is a self contained unit with its own output/link. :)O

Corabar Steve
22-06-2011, 10:08 AM
OK so what are you playing through it?

Dynamic Entertainment
22-06-2011, 10:10 AM
OK so what are you playing through it?

The QTX QR12PA has 2 inbuilt VHF microphones & SD and USB MP3 Player, and line in for connecting an iPod. :)

Corabar Steve
22-06-2011, 10:18 AM
So you're not using them for full on gigs?

More to the point, what exactly are you rying to do with them?

Dynamic Entertainment
22-06-2011, 10:22 AM
So you're not using them for full on gigs?

Nope, background music, speeches & quiz nights :)

Corabar Steve
22-06-2011, 10:23 AM
& linking them to the other set?

Dynamic Entertainment
22-06-2011, 10:36 AM
Kind of lol.

The 12PA is a stand alone unit...It can be battery or mains run, and has an inbuild MP3 player, wireless mic's and a RCA line input for playing an iPod. It also has RCA outputs for linking to another unit.

I then bought the 12A...which is the plain & simple powered speaker (that is housed in the same frame, so would look symetrical as a pair).

The 12A has XLX and 6.3mm jack inputs and a XLR Output/Link.

My plan was to run an 10m RCA-6.3mm jack cable from the 12PA, into the 12A. That works fine for music and is excellent. But the inbuild microphones on the 12PA arn't routed to the RCA outputs.

Clear as mud :o lol

deltic
22-06-2011, 10:52 AM
so there is no mixed signal out from the 12pa........... strange.

Excalibur
22-06-2011, 12:03 PM
so there is no mixed signal out from the 12pa........... strange.

The manual's not a lot of help, either. :(
http://www.stagebeat.co.uk/sites/stagebeatv7.001/productimages/assets/201103221156260.178843_178846.pdf

No input switches, no monotor, no nothing.

Is it the same for the built in mics, or do the external mics go through to the second unit?

Corabar Steve
22-06-2011, 12:23 PM
I wonder if there are any clues in the video Phase One posted in their section?

Dynamic Entertainment
22-06-2011, 12:35 PM
so there is no mixed signal out from the 12pa........... strange.
Annyoing...


The manual's not a lot of help, either. :(
http://www.stagebeat.co.uk/sites/stagebeatv7.001/productimages/assets/201103221156260.178843_178846.pdf

No input switches, no monotor, no nothing.

Is it the same for the built in mics, or do the external mics go through to the second unit?
Nope, external mics (on 6.3mm jack inputs) also dont go through to the second unit. The RCA output is only fed from the MP3 Player :(



I wonder if there are any clues in the video Phase One posted in their section?
Looked at that...theres nothing :(

deltic
22-06-2011, 04:02 PM
must be some way of getting a full signal across to the other unit.

Dynamic Entertainment
22-06-2011, 04:16 PM
must be some way of getting a full signal across to the other unit.

Not that ive found :(

DAVESOUNDS SERVICES
22-06-2011, 05:21 PM
From the book!

quote
External Inputs
In addition to the unit’s own VHF microphones, a pair of 6.3mm jack inputs are provided to connect 2 external wired or wireless microphones, which are both governed by the MIC VOLUME control.
Also, an AUX twin RCA input is provided for line input sources such as CD player or ipod. Adjacent to this twin RCA input is a twin RCA line output carrying the overall main mix. The AUX is governed by the VOLUME control at the top of the panel.


So unless its faulty
The Main MiX leaves via the PHONO sockets referred to in the manual

looks like it should work

Cheers

Excalibur
22-06-2011, 05:33 PM
So unless its faulty
The Main MiX leaves via the PHONO sockets referred to in the manual
looks like it should work

Cheers

Well spotted that man. ;) There does appear to be some confusion about the layout of the Phonos. The piccy shows them as in-top, out-bottom. Page 3 of the manual shows them as in-left, out-right. Very confusing, and I wonder if the has a bearing on the fact that the OP says it works best in one channel use. ( I'm sort of guessing that if it's designed as a standalone unit, it runs in mono, and thus only uses one channel for input. Adding a second unit is of course only duplicating the first, not adding a second channel. )

It appears to me that it sort of looks like a brilliant idea, let down by corner cutting/poor design.

Dynamic Entertainment
22-06-2011, 05:51 PM
I think the problem is that im trying to take a stereo output onto a mono jack input on the 12A.

Got the mics working now by completely scrapping the labled up details and playing around. (the books right btw)