PDA

View Full Version : New kit advice

DJay
28-09-2006, 07:59 PM
Hi,

I purchased a Denon DND 6000 CD, Numark 200FX mixer and KamKase. It sounds brilliant via headphones and the kit is solid.

My next purchase will be speakers (tops and subs) and 2 amps, one for the tops and one for the subs. That's the easy part! My budget is £1400 MAXIMUM. No more than £1400.

Thus I have compiled a shortlist:

TOPS
Peavey Pro 15 Speakers £249
Wharfedale EVPX 15 Speakers £250
Wharfedale LX15 Speakers £850 with matching subs

SUBS
Peavey Pro 15 Subs £249
Wharfedale EVPX 15 Subs £330
Wharfedale LX15B Subs £850 with matching tops

AMPS
Numark Dimension 4 £229
Kam 2000 £270
Behringer Europower 2500 £215
Crown 402 £260

Stands & Cables £100
Amp cases £80

I'm not a pro witrh regards to pairning kit up, but I think the following kit looks good:

Wharfedale LX15
Wharfedale LX15B
2 x Begringer Europower amps
Cables & Stands
Amp Cases
TOTAL: £1380

Am sure I can get the lot for £1300.

But what do you, The Pro's think of that kit and combination? It will be used for local parties in bars or 60 to 300 people.

Thanks for your help...

Jay

magicfm
28-09-2006, 08:17 PM
Hi Djay :)

As for the amp, I use the Behringer E2500 and it was a very good buy. I can highly recommend. :thumbs_up

You can check out the specs PDF on the behringer website.

(_8())

alexperrins
28-09-2006, 08:22 PM
Welcome to the forum! :)

I'm unfortunately not a pro (far from it actually!) but I've heard the Wharfedale's and they do sound excellent. The Europower amps have got a really good reputation, I know some of the guys and girls on here have one and swear by them so I think you've got a good combination there to be honest. I'd go with the Wharfedales over the Peavey's - but that's preference not because the Peavey's aren't as good :)