PDA

View Full Version : Mcgregor MA series or the Mcgregor SS series

salford1986
23-01-2012, 08:59 PM
What amp would you say will be better poweing my mcgregor Mytek 210 speakers, if both amps were the same watts what would you go for, and is there a massive difference between the two other than ones older than the other?

Excalibur
23-01-2012, 09:49 PM
I have no experience to speak of with these, so must bow out of the thread without contributing. Davesounds might be the sort of guy needed here.

NKR
23-01-2012, 10:05 PM
What amp would you say will be better poweing my mcgregor Mytek 210 speakers, if both amps were the same watts what would you go for, and is there a massive difference between the two other than ones older than the other?

The ss is not big enough the the MA you would need the 2000 to cover it. I have an ss500 in the garage. Its a solid little lump but at 250watts at 4ohms its not much use on an 8 ohm cab as it reduces its output somewhat.

Excalibur
23-01-2012, 10:16 PM
The ss is not big enough the the MA you would need the 2000 to cover it. I have an ss500 in the garage. Its a solid little lump but at 250watts at 4ohms its not much use on an 8 ohm cab as it reduces its output somewhat.

I reckon he's considering the 1300 size in each version. ;) Biggest difference I can see is that one is ready cased ( like most amps were, back in the day ) and the other is rack mount.

NKR
23-01-2012, 10:24 PM
I reckon he's considering the 1300 size in each version. ;) Biggest difference I can see is that one is ready cased ( like most amps were, back in the day ) and the other is rack mount.

The Mytek 212 appears to be 1000watts per side at 4ohms. Why buy an amp that is 650 watts per side at 4ohms unless you

a) Like breaking things for a giggle.
b) Like the smell of burning in the evening
c) Have an aversion to matching numbers
d) Have all of the above