PDA

View Full Version : Generators (yet again)

alexperrins
08-10-2006, 01:29 PM
I have been reading through the threads involving generators and as I am more than likely to be hired for a barge party which is coming up soon (thanks for the help on that one) I am getting rather worried about all the extra protection I might need to bring with me.

Basically, I am meeting with the boat owner on Thur (it is a different company to the one I posted up) what sort of questions should I be asking him? I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to this and I'm getting rather nervous about it all.

Apparently the barge owners hire a generator for every party. I am going to take 300 watts of sound, maybe 4 lights, maybe 2. A laptop, CD PLayer and Mixer. I understand from reading around that the generator must have Voltage Regulation, will this be enough on it's own to stop me worrying?

Do I need RCD for every socket and Surge Protection extension leads. I don't want to spend much - but if you guys tell me that I will have to spend lots of cash, then I'm getting out of this one asap!

Thanks as always

Alex

Thames Valley Discos
08-10-2006, 02:54 PM
well, i went for a double conversion ups, but a cheaper option is one of these http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=LE1200I&tab=features.
plug mixer,cd/pc etc into this. it regulates high/low voltages.
this only takes a max of 1200w. check your amp spec, that should only use 2-3amp load. the pc/cd,mixer only takes about 200w or 1 amp.
If useing lights,maybe get another, just add up all the wattage of your lights, if less than 1200w, then plug them into the other. Best solution is a double conversion ups, but as i found out, they are not cheap, although cheaper than replacing a blown up mixer etc.

My amp is 750W per channel into 4 ohm, and according to manufacturers tech spech, this only draws just over 2 amp.

alexperrins
08-10-2006, 07:21 PM