PDA

View Full Version : Which new laptop?

JSideFx
11-10-2012, 08:26 PM
Sorry to ask this as im sure its been asked many times before but threads Ive read on here and other sites are a few years old, Anyway Ive been using a laptop to dj with for over 3 years now with vdj7 and a Hercules RMX and all is going great but last week my trusty old desktop pc bit the dust and I feel a laptop for home suits my needs better. My gig laptop is a 3 year old acer aspire 5735z 2.0 duel core 4gig ram 160gig hdd, Ive not had really any bother with it since doing a couple tweaks but now Im using it as my only computer which I dont like doing.
So Im looking for a new laptop for djing and retire my current one for home use, I have £400 to spend and I would like at least 500g hard drive with hdmi port and decent graphics but other than that i'm not sure. Ive seen i3 i5 duel core quad core the lot on offer and I'm stumped tbh

Can anybody help?
Cheers

DiscoPromotions
12-10-2012, 12:18 PM
You might want to take a look at this one, http://www.saveonlaptops.co.uk/MSI_CX640MX_1117507.html#Images

I have purcahsed my nearly £1k laptop from SaveOnLaptop and had no issues..

Recommend staying away from HP packard bell... Acer I do recommend as being an ACER user..

Twinspin
12-10-2012, 06:49 PM
For a laptop as first choice i would recommend a Sony Vaio. I have 2x of these Machines and they work very well. Customer service from Sony was very good as well.

2nd choice.... Would be Samsung - I found a good spec one for £450.00 with dedicated graphics good processor, ram hdd etc. I think it was from comet.

after that.

Asus
Toshiba - Had one of these and thought they were good.
HP
Compaq
Dell

Any others. I wouldnt touch especially Acer in my honest opinion. If you get one that works. Ok. But if you ever have to send it for repair. They are very poor. Ive been down that road with them before.

JSideFx
29-10-2012, 10:00 AM