PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed please

Barry
08-09-2014, 06:18 PM
Hi Guys newbie here was wondering if anybody knows if a Peavey 2600 amp would be a good choice for a disco/karaoke set up (research has indicated this may be a guitar amp but not sure) the other option I'm looking at is a Yamaha EMX 5000-20 power mixer, Realise I would also need a mixer if I went the peavey route but but at 2x 900watt it seems a bargain at £200.00 any advice appreciated

Excalibur
08-09-2014, 07:38 PM
The PV 2600 is a reasonably well thought of amp. Weighs a ton, and has a built in crossover if needed. I have one, and for some reason, the crossover board came loose, and did damage. Got it mended for a sensible figure, and it's a good enough piece of kit.

It would help to know what speakers you have, or intend to get, as that might make it a poor choice.

Re cost, well secondhand, they make anywhere between £150 to £250. There was a time when they never made less than £200, but they don't always hit that price now. Have a look on Ebay, and see what they're going for.

velocityroadshow
08-09-2014, 09:47 PM
I would have a look at the KAM amps. Been very impressed with mine and did see an add the other day suggesting they now have a 10year warranty.

mattydj50
09-09-2014, 01:08 PM
I used to have one, Weighed a ton and was fine. Swopped it for a Numark Dimension 3 which did the job too. Got two of those now, but would be prepared to part with one for the right poundage.

Shaun
09-09-2014, 01:24 PM
Hi Guys newbie here was wondering if anybody knows if a Peavey 2600 amp would be a good choice for a disco/karaoke set up?

I recently asked for advice on amps and got some good advice (which I eventually ignored and went a different route...lol. Still, good advice nonetheless :d) http://www.forum.mobilediscodirectory.co.uk/showthread.php?41879-W-Audio-Amps

In the end I bought a Behringer EP4000 Europower. £247 quid from Thomann. http://www.thomann.de/gb/behringer_ep4000_europower.htm