Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Starting up a laptop karaoke setup?

Default Starting up a laptop karaoke setup?

There doesn't actually seem to be a lot of useful advice out there on this.
    I have been running an occasional Karaoke dj setup for a couple of years and will shortly be losing my able assistant, so have have looking to run my setup via a laptop. The problem is not which software to use, connecting up to amps and so on, it's how to convert and store the contents of close to 400 disks on to a hard drive.
    I am aware of the process involved and have transferred a number of disks in the past, but 400 disks is going to take the rest of my life.
    I can't be the only one who has this problem. So is it really a matter of painstackingly tranferring all these disks over, or is there a quicker easier option available?
    I have packages containing 4000+ mp3+g tracks, but I am well aware that it would be illegal to use these. Does everyone else just use illegal tracks like this anyway, or is there speedy conversion process I'm not aware of.
    Any help would be gratefully appreciated.

Worcestershire, West Midlands/Cotswolds Border

Unfortunatley the only way is to plough through the discs yourself.. however if the process is similar to converting normal music discs, then you're only talking 10mins per disc.. so not a great deal of time in the grand scheme of things.

Welcome to the forum by the way, please pop over to the newbies section and introduce yourself
    DJs, PA, Lighting & AV Hire, LED Uplighting & Wedding Lighting, Dance Floor Hire, Starcloth & Room Decor - Covering the Midlands & Cotswolds.
    Revolution Event Services Ltd - Wedding Lighting
    01386 898 113

Hi danno,
    Thanks for quick reply.