Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Speeches, your styles & tips!

Default Speeches, your styles & tips!

OK I have been making speeches for a couple of years now and I can say I really enjoy it.

Not sure why
    Probably makes me feel more important

I think it is a crucial part of any formal event and I do like to do things myself.
    I like to walk amongst people and get to know them on a face to face basis.
    Depends on the function but I am rarely behind the booth at the start or end.

This bloke seems to introduce and make speeches for everything which seems a bit OTT but hey thats America
    Who here introduces the speeches for best man etc. I never have?
    (ignore the first half until 3.30 mins).

OK then - What are you top five tips for making speeches

Mine are:

1: Planning! Think through the speech before you do it.
    2: Write down key information. i always have a little piece of paper in my hand - no one notices.
    3: Talk at half the speed or less than you normally would.
    4: Scan the crowd back and forth but do not look directly at anyone.
    5: Video your speech and play it back after the gig to analyze your habits.

There is allot more. i want to know how to make people shut up quicker and stop chatting!!!
    Your DJ - Mobile DJ The New Forest, Southampton & Hampshire. Toby
    https://yourdj.co.uk/

Its a Toasmaster/MCs job to announce each and every speaker to the microphone. This included Best Man, Groom, Father of the Bride and whoever else is chosen to say a few words. Ive worked with a toastmaster and even took a few pointers off him and its more involved than you may think.

Ive considered becoming a toastmaster with the ETA myself as it can be a definate upsell.
    http://www.dynamic-entertainment.co.uk

Tel:0800 990 3030