Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Another produb ish post

Default Another produb ish post

Hi as per my welcome post im new to all this,

In a bit of a quandary regarding produb as im fresh out the box, money to buy a produb license is scarce, i wish to have a legal collection of music but dont want to pay £100-0000's of pounds, i was planning on playing from laptop but too build my collection up was considering buying second hand cd's from carboots & charity shops. In the short term am i best do just play cd's and invest in double cd deck or just go with the produb license and convert the tracks over.

Thanks

Use CDs, rip your collection as you go but don't use it for DJing.

When you've earned a few quid from DJing and finished your ripping, then buy the Produb.

I would say that it really depends on how much you are thinking of investing in the CD player, and whether you would be continuing to use CDs as your long-term back up, or whether you intend to go completely digital long-term.

If the latter, then wouldn't the investment in the cd players now be a false economy and money down the drain?

Worcestershire, West Midlands/Cotswolds Border

Look at it like this -

Produb is 5p per track (assuming you'll build up a collection of 5000 tracks)

Your alternative is buying all your music online and avoiding any ripping - most tracks are say 69p per track.

So as long as you keep below 64p per track when you buy your CDs, you'll be quids in. Compliations with 101 tracks are about £10 new, which is under 10p a track, so not really hard
    DJs, PA, Lighting & AV Hire, LED Uplighting & Wedding Lighting, Dance Floor Hire, Starcloth & Room Decor - Covering the Midlands & Cotswolds.
    Revolution Event Services Ltd - Wedding Lighting
    01386 898 113