Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Licences etc HELP?!

Question Licences etc HELP?!

Ok being a musician I decided I want to try my hand at running a mobile disco. So I got myself an amp and speakers and some disco lights etc.

However, I have encountered a possible stumbling block.

I am NOT running my disco as a business. This is just a hobby. Here is an example of what I am doing:

I have all the gear to provide a disco. A friend comes to me and says I am having a party at the local community center will you do a disco for me? I say sure I'll do it. There is NO charge cos i'm just doing it for fun.

I thought this would be great I get to practice being a DJ and my buddies get to have a good dance!

BUT

After reading a lot of things online I have come accross a lot of talk about DJ licences which to be honest has got me bricking it because I haven't got anywhere near the budget I would need to buy these! Please can someone clarify this for me?! I'm just hoping I haven't completely wasted my time and money.

Quote Originally Posted by jaylaw View Post

After reading a lot of things online I have come accross a lot of talk about DJ licences which to be honest has got me bricking it because I haven't got anywhere near the budget I would need to buy these! Please can someone clarify this for me?! I'm just hoping I haven't completely wasted my time and money.
    In most cases the PRS/PPL licence will be held by the venue you are playing in.

If you are playing from a laptop, and have converted the music from CDs to play on the laptop, then a Produb licence is required. 'Produb' is a 'format shifting licence'. If you are using original CDs then no licence is required.