Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.

Thread: Lapel Mic System - Advice Please

Default Lapel Mic System - Advice Please

Hi all,

Been thinking for a while about getting a lapel mic system as I am getting a number of jobs via one of my residencies for sound hire for conferences etc.
    Until now I have used my wireless microphones.
    I've never used a lapel system before and have a job this week where they would prefer to use lapel mics if possible.
    I've seen some cheapish systems online but have had difficulty finding out exactly how they would be connected to a PA system.
    I understand that the mics plug into packs that are secured on the body and the signal is sent via the receiver.
    What I want to know firstly is....The receiver. Am I right in thinking that you'd connect the receiver to the mixer via XLR or 1/4" lead?
    Also, if there is 1 receiver that can be connected to 2 x lapel mics, does 1 XLR or 1/4" connected to the mixer work for that. I assume you just adjust the volume for each mic?

I've looked online and I haven't seen that many rear view photos of the receiver hence the need to ask what is probably a stupid question.
    My 2 radio mics are pretty simple and it's just a 1/4" from the receiver to the mixer and that's it. I'm guessing this would be the same theory?

Thanks in advance.

A Shure dual lavalier system like THIS would probably suit your purposes.
    Inside every old person, is a young person wondering 'What The Hell Happened'. Tempus Fugit

Disco 4 Hire

Most radio mic systems have either a 6mm jack or and XLR output on the back so you can choose what to use, often the XLR is at a mic level and the jack a line level. Some dual systems have just one output jack for both channels but this is not so good as it is better to control the levels on each mic.