Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.

Thread: Virtual dj help

Default Virtual dj help

Hi everyone
    Hope someone can help, I was running vdj on Saturday night when the cpu indicator bar started running high. Everytime the next song loaded it showed full cpu usage and the current song slowed down until the next song had loaded. I have been using the laptop and Vdj for a couple of years now with no problems. The laptop is easily powerful enough with 1gb memory and 250 gb hard drive. The only thing that is different is that the battery indicator says I should consider replacing the battery although I use it with charger connected and it reads 100% charged.
    Awaiting your advice thanks
    Kevin

Well firstly, do consider changing the battery. It will show charged, but if it's truly shot, it will generate excess heat, as it tries to charge. For this reason, I've actually removed the battery from one of mine. Heat is bad news, and this one used to cut out because of it.

Secondly, what are you controlling the laptop with? If the answer is " a mouse ", then carry on. If you're using a full controller, then 1Gb is pushing it. My old one has two, and the staff at the DJ shop I took it to were horrified at that! It refused to run with a Denon MC2000, but performed faultlessly with every soundcard I've given it, and many older controllers.
    The reasoning behind this was that modern controllers place heavy demands on the laptop, whereas older ones don't. Perceived wisdom was that it was wise to have a machine with oodles of RAM, and solid state hard drives, to ensure troublefree operation. Not a view I subscribe to, but hey, what do I know?
    Excalibur. Older than the average DJ.

www.excaliburmobiledisco.co.uk

Quote Originally Posted by Excalibur View Post