Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dead Denon mc 3000

Default Dead Denon mc 3000

Hi all I'm after a bit of help, I work in a school and they have a denon mc 3000 in the music dept. Unfortunately a student plugged a 18 v power supply into it and killed it.
    I have removed the top but can't see any visible damage.
    Appreciate any advice
    Last edited by Excalibur; 06-11-2015 at 09:40 PM.

Ouch! Let's hope one of the technocrats comes by soon. Sorry to be a prophet of doom, but these things don't often end happily.

Oh for the old days, when you might get away with fifty pence worth of fuse.
    Excalibur. Older than the average DJ.

www.excaliburmobiledisco.co.uk

Is it a Demon, Denton or Denon
    Cant really help you unfortunately, but I would assume a new power management unit would be required. Could be a cheap fix if none of the rest is damaged.
    Your DJ - Mobile DJ The New Forest, Southampton & Hampshire. Toby
    https://yourdj.co.uk/

Quote Originally Posted by yourdj View Post
    Is it a Demon, Denton or Denon
    Cant really help you unfortunately, but I would assume a new power management unit would be required. Could be a cheap fix if none of the rest is damaged.
    Says Denon on my screen, Toby.

Just goes to show the importance of keeping the correct power supplies with equipment. Labelling them is an excellent idea, too.

Do controllers have fuses? Would be the first thing I'd check!

Dorset DJ - Dorset based DJ service
    11:11 EVENTS LTD - 11:11 EVENTS LTD

Quote Originally Posted by ukpartydj View Post
    Do controllers have fuses? Would be the first thing I'd check!
    I was going to suggest that, but did not know if they were fused for low voltage. Someone else is probably much better to advise. My bet would be one of the power management chips/transistors is blown or something?