Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Vaporizer Strobe Light

  1. #1
    dicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Stoke On Trent
    Age
    60
    Posts
    675

    Default Vaporizer Strobe Light

    Hi I got one of these Vaporizer Strobe lights here for repair.

    Could be a Zoom Vaporizer 1500 or Source Vaporizer 1500. Maybe both are the same thing? It just says Vaporizer Strobe Light on the back, no model number etc.

    It has a circuit breaker type on off switch at one end with captive mains lead and DMX in/out plus 10 dip switches at the other end

    Could be it has 2 DMX channels rate/intensity, though I didn't attach a DMX controller just yet as it's in my storage unit, but does anyone know about these strobes and whether they are supposed to have a standalone strobe function (switch 10 on?)

    This one powers up, or at least I can hear the fan running and red LED comes on, but doesn't flash, so is faulty unless I am using it incorrectly

    Cheers
    Rich

  2. #2
    dicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Stoke On Trent
    Age
    60
    Posts
    675

    Default

    Kinda partly answered my own question - spotted a built in mic behind the mounting bracket - so definitely has built in sound to strobe - anyone know how to activate that?

    Rich

  3. #3
    Daryll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    South Harting, West sussex
    Age
    62
    Posts
    2,846

    Default

    Cant find the manual , but have a look at this thread .

    http://www.blue-room.org.uk/index.php?showtopic=16949

    Cheers

    Daryll
    darylldj.co.uk , serving hampshire , Surrey and sussex

  4. #4
    dicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Stoke On Trent
    Age
    60
    Posts
    675

    Default

    Cheers Daryl

    I had seen that thread but the link to the manual is dead. I'm guessing this strobe is the same one as described there

    Best guess from having a look at it is a microcontroller faultt - The DIP switch 10 works - switches the voltage on an input port pin on the microcontroller, The Sound-to-Light circuit works, sends pulse to microcontroller pin when I tap the casing, but the micro never sends a signal to trigger the flash.

    Oscillator running, micro isn't permananetly RESET, unless I am missing something like a Dip Swithch setting then this one can't be repaired

    Rich

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Winchester
    Posts
    197

    Default

    I've got one of these.

    Not sure if I've ever tried it stand-alone, but it definitely uses 2 channels of DMX and needs a combination of values on both channels to get output. Can't remember what the values are - I end up just having a quick play with a couple of sliders on the desk each time I use it to remind myself!

    The blinder function is where it really comes in handy.

  6. #6
    dicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Stoke On Trent
    Age
    60
    Posts
    675

    Default

    Hi mate
    Could you possibly plug it in and set DIP switch 10 to on, all others off, and see if it runs sound-to-light stand alone

    Cheers

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Winchester
    Posts
    197

    Default

    Will try to remember next time I'm at the unit (may get out there later today)!

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Winchester
    Posts
    197

    Default

    OK, tried it last night.

    Just switch 10 on gives constant flashing.
    Trial and error determined that switches 9 + 10 both on gives sound to light.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •