Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RCF EVOX 5

Default RCF EVOX 5

I've just recently purchased a pair of these after reading the great reviews on its big brother the EVOX 8 and im wondering whether i can use these for mobile gigs of up to 100 people.

The specs are

Consists of 5 x 2" ultra compact full range speakers, 10" woofer, 2.0" voice coil
    800 Watt Peak (600 W+200 W Peak, 300 W+100 W RMS)
    Peak SPL: 125 dB
    Frequency range: 45 Hz bis 20 kHz
    DSP Processing
    XLR-TRS combined socket
    Soft limiter
    Weight: 19.2 kg
    Includes: 1x power cable, 1x Speaker Twist cable, 1x Distance pole

I've no experience at all of these, but I used to easily cope with up to 100 folk using Maui 5s. I see no reason why the Evox shouldn't cope.
    Excalibur. Older than the average DJ.

www.excaliburmobiledisco.co.uk

I've not seen many of the Evox 5 out.

It seems that the Evox 5 isn't significantly smaller than the Evox 8, yet has considerably less power, so most people just opt for the 8.

For what it's worth, those I know who did have the 5, seem to have sold them quite quickly.

Forgive me if this comes across a bit rash, but it's odd to ask if a speaker system can handle a certain size of crowd after you've bought the system?!

Quote Originally Posted by rth_discos View Post

Forgive me if this comes across a bit rash, but it's odd to ask if a speaker system can handle a certain size of crowd after you've bought the system?!
    While that's a valid point, I wonder if perhaps the lad bought them primarily for ceremony music and the like, and suddenly thought " hang on, these are very easy to use, and surprisingly capable, I wonder if they'd have enough grunt for a small disco " ?
    Wouldn't be the first.

Quote Originally Posted by Excalibur View Post