Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: A really stupid question

  1. #11
    Mark 2 Version
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Chester-le-Street
    Posts
    3,856

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by funkymook View Post
    Unless itís the first dance or other key moment...
    Ceremony and first dance I have an immediate system in place, for the rest of the night I don't.
    North East and Cumbria NADJ Chairman

    www.premierweddingdj.co.uk
    www.ultimateweddingdj.co.uk

  2. #12
    Senior Member yourdj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The New Forest
    Age
    38
    Posts
    7,116

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by funkymook View Post
    Unless itís the first dance or other key moment...
    Quote Originally Posted by ppentertainments View Post
    Ceremony and first dance I have an immediate system in place, for the rest of the night I don't.
    Quite. I have an iPad using DJay to get me through a few tracks and a laptop/controller in the car. No one would know any different even during first dance but it if I pressed play on both at the same time, it would be seamless. It would take a few seconds to set up the new system. i might start thinking about having the controller next to my main kit, although its more probable that the laptop will go down.

    Can you not go through the dead controller Aux if it works as a separate input/output when not on? My VCI 300 did that so I would be surprised if its not standard these days (my mc4000 does it i think). Mixers don't take that long and are dead handy for a bit of extra gain and other connections if required. I have a small mackie mixer in box that is already all wired and loomed up with the electrics and lighting control, so thats possibly worth a thought as it save LOADS of time setting up. Perhaps a mixer can be incorporated into your controller flight case?

    Name:  NI_Traktor_Kontrol_S4_MK2_Controller_Backview.jpg
Views: 150
Size:  21.0 KB
    Your DJ - Mobile DJ The New Forest, Southampton & Hampshire. Toby
    http://www.yourdj.co.uk/ | http://www.phatdiscos.co.uk/ | http://bogfrog.co.uk | http://newforestwedding.co.uk

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bristol
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,942

    Default

    Combining signals without a mixer is a big no-no (or is, at best, likely to create problems), switching between them is fine. I've had recent experience of a bar where they've split the output to run an amp for a pair of speakers on the dance floor and a secondary system that repeats the sound using small speakers around the bar by daisy chaining the signal through the in/out connections on a set of small amps. It all works fine unless one of the amps is turned off. With any one of the amps turned off you get a weird repeated popping noise come through all of the remaining amps/speakers as capacitors in the input stages of the powered down amp charge and discharge!

    Keeping it simple, maybe the answer is to reduce the amount of time it takes to change the cables over using a balanced switch?

    E.g. http://www.goldpt.com/sw2x.html or https://www.thomann.de/gb/kramer_vs_...reo_switch.htm

    Julian
    Last edited by DJ Jules; 23-08-2018 at 07:49 AM.
    http://www.bristoldiscohire.co.uk - Quality Disco and Equipment hire for Bristol & Bath
    Weddings, Birthday Parties, Kids Parties, School Disco's, Quizes and more

  4. #14
    Ezekiel 25:17 funkymook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Staines, Middlesex
    Age
    58
    Posts
    4,666

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ppentertainments View Post
    Ceremony and first dance I have an immediate system in place, for the rest of the night I don't.
    Fair enough, though Iíd have thought if youíre going to the trouble of having back-up for the first dance then it canít be much more hassle to have back-up for the rest of the night in place as well.

  5. #15
    Resident Antagonist Benny Smyth's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Worcestershire
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,630

    Default

    Thanks for the input, guys. Just as well I asked before going ahead with it!

  6. #16
    Senior Member yourdj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The New Forest
    Age
    38
    Posts
    7,116

    Default

    I don't have a clue what i am talking about, but though of this on the way home tonight. Its a stupid question to compliment a stupid question.

    If you have 4 XLR's 2 of which are in the main playout and 2 in the backup (and two further XLR's going to the speaker), as long as you are not playing sound though both at the same time then would it not matter as there would be no conflicting frequencies or what ever, or it still be a problem??

    Like this for one side

    Name:  41C9MAvRcBL._SX425_.jpg
Views: 119
Size:  15.1 KB
    Last edited by yourdj; 25-08-2018 at 12:08 AM.
    Your DJ - Mobile DJ The New Forest, Southampton & Hampshire. Toby
    http://www.yourdj.co.uk/ | http://www.phatdiscos.co.uk/ | http://bogfrog.co.uk | http://newforestwedding.co.uk

  7. #17
    Dinosaur Excalibur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    East Yorkshire
    Age
    64
    Posts
    25,540

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yourdj View Post
    I don't have a clue what i am talking about, but though of this on the way home tonight. Its a stupid question to compliment a stupid question.

    If you have 4 XLR's 2 of which are in the main playout and 2 in the backup (and two further XLR's going to the speaker), as long as you are not playing sound though both at the same time then would it not matter as there would be no conflicting frequencies or what ever, or it still be a problem??

    Like this for one side
    As explained above , Toby: Depends. Do ya feel lucky?

    With some combinations, no probs. With others, disaster. Do ya still feel lucky?


    Benny, re your question, and following on from suggestions from Martin, and a discussion with a colleague: Had you opted for a Maui rig, rather than your FBT, it would have been possible to use the mixing facilities on speaker one to accept each controller simultaneously, and feed this out to speaker two.

    However, extrapolating the " what if " scenario further, should speaker one fail..............................................
    Excalibur. Older than the average DJ.

    www.excaliburmobiledisco.co.uk


  8. #18
    Senior Member mike8863's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Connahs Quay, North Wales
    Posts
    835

    Default one step further

    Can I ask a silly question please, sort of related......
    How many active tops can you daisy chain via xlr before losing sound quality or causing any damage ?
    Regards
    always remember, you're unique, just like everyone else......

  9. #19
    MDD Supporter Nakatomi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Durham, Co Durham
    Posts
    2,783

    Default

    Simple answer : quite a few.

    Be careful of creating ground loops though, especially if speakers you put on the line level chain are powered from different mains wall outlets.

    The question here is, why do need to team up stacks of speakers? Wouldn't it be better to acquire or hire something bigger?

    See, you can only get so much out of putting speakers next to one another. Especially if they're not the same make & model. Placement becomes an issue.. Put 2 mid/top speakers side by side & you can end up with some parts of the audio spectrum cancelling each other out resulting in a weird, hollow sound.

  10. #20
    Dinosaur Excalibur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    East Yorkshire
    Age
    64
    Posts
    25,540

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nakatomi View Post
    The question here is, why do need to team up stacks of speakers? Wouldn't it be better to acquire or hire something bigger?
    Mayhap he would like to extend the music into an adjacent room or rooms?
    Excalibur. Older than the average DJ.

    www.excaliburmobiledisco.co.uk


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •