PDA

View Full Version : Time for the tax man

Tom
02-04-2008, 10:03 PM
I have decided to do the tax myself as I havent been on the HM Revenue and Customs books to long plus it will save me a few hundred quid this time round. But next year I will get it all done professionally.

Anyway, what happens now? Do I wait for the form to come from them to fill in and send back or can i do it online now???

Not to sure what to do as this is my first time going about this. :o :(

Vectis
02-04-2008, 10:21 PM
The online thing takes ages to set up - they have to send you passwords and PINs in the post, that sort of thing. If you can, I'd register now and get the wheels in motion.

If you already registered as self-employed (which I think you did a while back) then the self-cert forms will land in the post probably mid-end April.

If you're organised, you'll have all the numbers ready to plug in.

I always find it useful to use the paper version to get everything in the right place, then key it in online. But that's because I've been doing paper ones for 20+ years.

Don't forget as it's your first year of trading you can claim 40% of (most - check the rules) asset costs as depreciation - from thereonin you can only claim 25% of the residuals.

Tom
02-04-2008, 10:36 PM
I have just sorted out the online Self Assesment.

Now i just need to find out on what i can claim for ect ect.

Thanks again for a speedy reply. :)

Solitaire Events Ltd
02-04-2008, 10:52 PM
I have decided to do the tax myself as I havent been on the HM Revenue and Customs books to long plus it will save me a few hundred quid this time round.

It won't. False economy.

Now i just need to find out on what i can claim for ect ect.

I rest my case. ;)

Get an accountant.

Tom
02-04-2008, 11:09 PM
Just to check is this the correct page im looking at - Link (http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/rates/it.htm)

Solitaire Events Ltd
02-04-2008, 11:11 PM