PDA

View Full Version : Website issue - Not too happy.

DJ Frankie
08-04-2008, 09:38 AM
Hi Folks

I have a question, I don’t want to go into too much detail but I need some advice if possible.

The Scenario:

Let’s say you have an established website called (Example only) mywebsite.co.uk and your local competitor has JUST recently purchased an identical name to yours called mywebsite.net and has also done a masked redirect to there own website to gain more work from your established and successful company where do you stand with this?
Do you have a right to call there hosting company and complain about it or do you not have a leg to stand on?????

discomobiledj
08-04-2008, 11:35 AM
Unless your site name is copyright/trademark to you then I'm not sure there is alot you can do.

Ace DJ
08-04-2008, 11:45 AM
This has happened to me. I don't know about re-directing though. I have been trading for many years with ny name nationaly with .co.uk. and another company has started the begining of the year with .com
Very frustrating but not a lot you can do other than buy all of the website names
ACE

Spirits High
08-04-2008, 12:03 PM
Very frustrating but not a lot you can do other than buy all of the website names
ACE

Indeed it is thats why i've got .co.uk .org.uk and .net

Just waiting to get .com!

Solitaire Events Ltd
08-04-2008, 12:06 PM
Email their ISP and see what they say.

Marc J
08-04-2008, 12:15 PM
Nothing you can do I'm afraid, unless (as Steven said) you own copyright / trademark on the phrase used in the domain. If they are words from the dictionary then it's first come, first served I'm afraid.

If you don't, then you should secure as many variants of your chosen domain name that you can - at least that's what I always advise my clients. There's the usual variants with .co.uk, com, .net etc., but also get with and without hyphens if there's more than one word in the domain.