PDA

View Full Version : DJing with DRM music

dj smithy
13-05-2008, 07:54 AM
Hi there,

I'm very new to the whole world of DJing and i'm thinking of going down the digital route.

But i need your help. I was planning on

Subscriping to a service like Napster £10 or whatever a month, converting the tracks to mp3s so they play in my DJing software and there you go.

As long as i keep my subscription active is there anything wrong with this?

My other worry about this is that sometimes tracks come and disappear from the service but obviouisly my mp3 version would still play where as the DRM WMA would not anymore.

Any advice appreciated thank you

DJWayne
13-05-2008, 08:12 AM
Bit of a minefield mate.

Best advice have a look through the forum for the threads on the new DJ licence they will give you some ideas with regard what is and isnt legal.

However i do believe removing the DRM from napster tracks however easy it may be to do would still be illegal :)

spin mobile disco
13-05-2008, 09:37 AM
Play.com sell music without drm on them if that helps.

JAMdisco
13-05-2008, 09:57 AM
But i need your help. I was planning on

Subscriping to a service like Napster £10 or whatever a month, converting the tracks to mp3s so they play in my DJing software and there you go.

As long as i keep my subscription active is there anything wrong with this?

Any advice appreciated thank you

Yes, there is something VERY wrong with this if you want to remain legal.
Basically the £10 Napster service is for you to listen on a PC or portable MP3 player (for your personal use only). If you want to 'own ' the tracks you have to purchase them (at around £790 for every 1,000 songs - very expensive)

I use this service and mainly use it for 'previewing' songs before deciding to buy them (especially re-mixes as some are just extended drum-beat intros)

sleah
13-05-2008, 10:30 AM
(at around £790 for every 1,000 songs - very expensive)