PDA

View Full Version : Christmas rates

yourdj
13-06-2008, 01:58 AM
This is my first year as "Your DJ" and as i now have a few fully booked months till then Im starting to think about christmas.

I have had a guy call me who wants me too DJ every Saturday in December. It is a nice restaurant in a trendy part of southampton. I would normally charge him £145 for decks, speakers and a couple of lights for about 3-4 hours.

I normally go out for about £250, so i think i will give this to other people if otherwise busy, although nice to have regular bookings and all :)

Basically how much more do you charge during the christmas season and when? Especially christmas eve and new years eve.

i have a sneaky suspicion i am going to get lots of last minute calls a couple of weeks prior so i need to get the back up before!

daz226
13-06-2008, 02:41 AM
during christmas i charge the normal rate apart from christmas eve and new years eve and by doing this i am booked solid through dec so much so i will be doing a couple 7 day weeks.

yourdj
13-06-2008, 02:57 AM
Ok ta, i thought that.

Good to see some people keeping the same hours as me (obviously busy djing - or on a night shift somewhere else) :D

JAMdisco
13-06-2008, 06:56 AM
I usually charge double rates on xmas eve and NYE. Usually somewhere around the £350 upwards mark. The obvious answer though, is get as much as you can!!!

Vectis
13-06-2008, 07:24 AM
My rates are seasonal for reasons previously stated and I don't take bookings for my "Junior" rig in December as there's sufficient demand that I don't have to. Plus, I tend to find December bookings are full of people who rarely come out to play and so it's good to get an impressive show in front of them for word-of-mouth recommendations over the course of the following year. My cheapest gig would therefore go out for £240 with a midnight finish and without any 'extras', going up to £345 for the top rig, midnight, no extras.