PDA

View Full Version : A few karaoke questions

The_Blue_Dragon
27-09-2008, 12:30 PM
Hi people,
Sorry for all the questions but Im still learning. This week as you will know Ive been sorting my karaoke collection and its slowly building up. At the beginning of the week I purchased a new mixer for when Im doing just a Disco but then decided Id like to maybe try karaoke.

So:-
1, Will THIS (http://www.geminidj.com/ps02usb.html) mixer be ok to run a laptop and 2mics for karaoke?

2, What would you say the smallest screen you would use for karaoke? as I will be buying a PC TFT screen as it will have better quality than linking my laptop to a tv.

3, Is there such thing as budget wireless mics that will be ok for karaoke but still be reliable and clear? I need 2 but dont want one of them with 2 mics and 1 base as Id like to be able to change the volume on both mics incase there is a loud singer and a quiet singer.

4, Whats the minimum number of songs you would get before starting with karaoke?

6, Is there any templates about for song slips that people will fill in when they want to sing

Solitaire Events Ltd
27-09-2008, 12:41 PM
1, Will THIS (http://www.geminidj.com/ps02usb.html) mixer be ok to run a laptop and 2mics for karaoke?

Not if you want to use an external soundcard and use two separate channels. It all depends on your budget really. I use a Numark 200FX for karaoke as it has extra mic channels and an effects processor, which is simple but effective. Behringer make a few budget mixers that could be used for karaoke too.

2, What would you say the smallest screen you would use for karaoke? as I will be buying a PC TFT screen as it will have better quality than linking my laptop to a tv.

For singers, I use a 19" tft, but anything above 15" would be fine as they don't generally stand that far away from the screen.

3, Is there such thing as budget wireless mics that will be ok for karaoke but still be reliable and clear?