PDA

View Full Version : Method Statement

Dynamic Entertainment
03-12-2008, 07:32 PM
Ive been asked to produce a method statement for one of the venues i work at (new GM). I already have a risk assessment in place (thanks to Daz for the pointers). I contacted HSE and was told that a method statement wasnt really relevent for a mobile disco as it was more for construction. Any thoutghts/help would be much appreciated.

Tony Scott
03-12-2008, 08:12 PM
Ive been asked to produce a method statement for one of the venues i work at (new GM). I already have a risk assessment in place (thanks to Daz for the pointers). I contacted HSE and was told that a method statement wasnt really relevent for a mobile disco as it was more for construction. Any thoutghts/help would be much appreciated.

I used to have to submit risk assesments and method statements when I worked in construction and this is my understanding of what is required:

A method statement should give a detailed account of the safety measures you have/will put in place to protect you, your operatives and the general public against the risks you have identified in your risk assessment.

A Risk Assessment identifies the risks.

A Method Statement details what you are going to do to protect againsts those risks. It should include details of any safety equipment, insurance, safety testing. Also it needs to show how you will prevent trip hazards, falling equipment(safety chains on lights etc), electrical hazards and general safety issues.

You need to think through what could go wrong(risk assessing) and show what you will do to prevent it happening(stating your methods)

Hope this helps? :)

Dynamic Entertainment
03-12-2008, 08:24 PM