PDA

View Full Version : Limited company or sole trader?

A1DL
02-01-2009, 03:59 PM
Moved from another thread to keep it on topic.
Admin.

When i first set up the company i always said to myself one day when im older and had enuff id pass the company on to my kids to keep it a family biz and set my kid(s) up for future but now i just dont know.

Ross

A couple of points.

(1) I thought you were a sole trader

(2) You talk as if this was years & years ago, you're only 18...

OllieJames
02-01-2009, 04:01 PM
Ross

A couple of points.

(1) I thought you were a sole trader

(2) You talk as if this was years & years ago, you're only 18...

I call mine a company but i'm a sole trader... out of interest what should i be calling it if it's not a 'company' :o :D

A1DL
02-01-2009, 04:04 PM
I call mine a company but i'm a sole trader... out of interest what should i be calling it if it's not a 'company' :o :D

A business, a hobby, Fred, Shiela, whatever...

It's not a company unless it is registered at Companies House. Too many people seem unaware of that very simple fact.

Pe7e
02-01-2009, 04:05 PM

A business, or partnership if more people than yourself are involved.

Mark Wild
02-01-2009, 04:21 PM
A business, a hobby, Fred, Shiela, whatever...

It's not a company unless it is registered at Companies House. Too many people seem unaware of that very simple fact.

A registered company could also call themselves, a business, a hobby, Fred, Shiela, whatever. In some circumstances there really isn't much difference between the two.

Shakermaker Promotions
02-01-2009, 04:35 PM
A1 - I call myself a company, so what!?? I am a sole trader too.

Excalibur
02-01-2009, 04:37 PM