PDA

View Full Version : Summer Residency for Language School

pagan_flame
18-01-2009, 03:57 PM
Well, after the earlier despondancy, I've had my first enquiry for 2009... work all summer long, midweek!

My wife did a temp stint last summer in one of Cambridge's language schools, and has retained contact with the office admin there - she got onto me today; they are tired of sending their students to the clubs in town (that do admit under 18's on certain nights), paying for them to get in and then having to sort out fights / drunkeness / underage sex etc etc --- so they want to do their own nights, twice a week, with me.

It would be Monday & Thursday, June to August, no alcohol served, supervising adults present, age group = 14 - 17 year olds.

I do now have Enhanced CRB (they did this for me as I am a Driving Instructor) - what do you think? I tend to avoid 18th's unless accompanied by someone else, due to the aforementioned drinking / fighting etc.

I'm guessing I'd be looking at current chart / R 'n B quite a lot, in terms of music... but it's outside my experience currently, any tips or advice to give?

Dynamic Entertainment
18-01-2009, 04:06 PM
Id go for it. You may be out of your comfort zone for the first few but then you would get the hang of it. Kids are great at telling you exactly what they want. Its a good start looking at the top 40 each week (http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio1/chart/ ) and getting at least the top 10, check Radio 1s playlist (http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio1/playlist/ ) and try and get hold of whats on the A list (at least). For dancier stuff (atleast for kids) its worth checking www.aatw.com for their upcoming releases.

Like i say, kids will fill you with requests so its worth having a pen and paper handy, to keep track of the dedications and also make notes of what you havent got that they want. Youll find its pretty much the same stuff night after night.

Penfold42
18-01-2009, 04:30 PM