PDA

View Full Version : Class-D CD15SP speakers.

Excalibur
23-01-2009, 07:36 AM
http://www.classd.ltd.uk/product.php?productid=16144&cat=23&page=1
This is the pair of cabs which goes to most of my gigs. If anyone on a budget needed one pair of cabs to do everything, then I'd recommend these, with one proviso. The reason they have such a wonderful bass response, is that the cabinet is very big, and a bit of a handful to lift onto stands. I run mine with all tone controls flat, and rarely need to tweak them very much.
I have run them against name brand cabs, and while I'm not going to pretend they're better, I've always felt they held their own admirably, and at a fraction of the price sometimes. These are the upgrade to the 158/158-1 series, which many folk on here use, which I have little personal experience of.

Corabar Steve
23-01-2009, 08:46 AM
a bit of a handful to lift onto stands.

Do they have tophats should you wish to attempt it?

Excalibur
23-01-2009, 09:25 AM
Do they have tophats should you wish to attempt it?

Oh yuss. Top and bottom. :D I place mine on stands 95% of the time, but care is needed. Apparently it's 4kg heavier than a Mackie 450 MkI if that gives a comparison. It's not the weight that's so much of a problem, more the physical size. If you're trying to put them on stands ( which of course would be impossible) these,
http://www.classd.ltd.uk/product.php?productid=16139&cat=23&page=1
while 8kg heavier, are actually easier to move. :eek: Fantastic cab, but best on a raised stage. My favourite setup, though not strictly recommended for stability reasons, is to place a pair of the 15's on the 215's and run them in parallel. Thunderous bass, I usually pull virtually all of it off the mixer, max volume, and the compression drivers in the SP's sweeten the top end.

If anyone wanted tops over subs, I'd recommend these, for ease of handling.
http://www.classd.ltd.uk/product.php?productid=16143&cat=23&page=1

Totally Plucked
23-01-2009, 09:37 AM