PDA

View Full Version : I'm gonna go nutts .. The cracking noise coming from my laptop

Rowleys
13-04-2009, 07:33 PM
Now i really have no idea why this is making a cracking noise manly with the BASS

i got some noise filter .. never worked

i cut the earth from the laptop power pack .. never worked

i thought it was from the power pack but when i unplugged it it was still there ..

the only way i can stop this noise is connect the other monitor for the karaoke and turn it on and out put something to it from the laptop and the noise stop

i tried to different sound cards and still the noise is there

does anyone else get this ??

Excalibur
13-04-2009, 07:39 PM
Info please.
What soundcards, what laptop, what programme, for example. You appear to have gone along the obvious lines so far, but I suspect it's a setting problem in the laptop. (As if I'm a Computer expert) :o :o

Rowleys
13-04-2009, 07:45 PM
OK sound card is a 5.1 USB sound card..

laptop HP zv5000

external 500GB HDD USB

using VDJ

sound card setup as left deck front output
right deck rear output

hope this help ..

but i think its a earth with the laptop metal ..

Eg where the plug VGA plug screws in can i connect a wire from there to the mixers ground point??

Rowleys
13-04-2009, 08:02 PM
just to add the noise is not a HUM its really like a crackly

witch old happens when connected to disco gear

Excalibur
13-04-2009, 08:12 PM
As is well known, I'm not an IT boffin. I think one problem may be using one budget card for two channels. A MAYA or similar might help. Alternatively a mixer with built in sound cards, like Justin's monster. :D
If you could borrow something like that it might help. Wait for the IT crowd to arrive.

Rowleys
13-04-2009, 08:15 PM
yeh i was thinking usb mixer but its funds lol

discomobiledj
13-04-2009, 08:34 PM