PDA

View Full Version : Dreamweaver/Design question



James
03-05-2009, 06:39 PM
I'm tyring to insert a spry menu style sheet into my default css stylesheet but it doesn't seem to be working, i have a couple of questions for you web guru's

1. is what i'm trying to do possible? or do the 2 style sheets have to be kept seperate?

2. if it is possible, how do i do it?

thanks folks

was up to 6am rooting around the internet trying to find the answer and still couldn't find it.

DJWilson
03-05-2009, 06:44 PM
<link href="../../../newstyle.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />


then 2nd stylesheet
<link href="../../../newstyle2.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

Jiggles
03-05-2009, 06:46 PM
He could combine them so long as they both don't contain the same code.

James
04-05-2009, 06:53 PM
This may seem a little long winded guys but i'm at my wits end trying to work it out

Here's what i've done so far

I've created a simple webpage, added a background image to the page, then inserted a spry menu bar

What i'm trying to do is have the spry menu bar appear on the other pages without having to insert a new spry menu to each page

here's the code from my stylesheet

@charset "utf-8";
/* CSS Document */

body {
background-image: url(Backgrounds/page_background_template.jpg);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
}

as you can see, the page is blank just a background image



now here's the code from the index page with the spry menu on

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>

<link href="stylesheet.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<style type="text/css">
<!--
#apDiv1 {
position:absolute;
left:120px;
top:148px;
width:665px;
height:63px;
z-index:1;
}
-->
</style>
<script src="SpryAssets/SpryMenuBar.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<link href="SpryAssets/SpryMenuBarHorizontal.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
</head>

<body>
<div id="apDiv1">
<ul id="MenuBar1" class="MenuBarHorizontal">
<li><a class="MenuBarItemSubmenu" href="#">Item 1</a>
<ul>
<li><a href="#">Item 1.1</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Item 1.2</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Item 1.3</a></li>
</ul>
</li>
<li><a href="#">Item 2</a></li>
<li><a class="MenuBarItemSubmenu" href="#">Item 3</a>
<ul>
<li><a class="MenuBarItemSubmenu" href="#">Item 3.1</a>
<ul>
<li><a href="#">Item 3.1.1</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Item 3.1.2</a></li>
</ul>
</li>
<li><a href="#">Item 3.2</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Item 3.3</a></li>
</ul>
</li>
<li><a href="#">Item 4</a></li>
</ul>
</div>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
var MenuBar1 = new Spry.Widget.MenuBar("MenuBar1", {imgDown:"SpryAssets/SpryMenuBarDownHover.gif", imgRight:"SpryAssets/SpryMenuBarRightHover.gif"});
//-->
</script>
</body>
</html>

i just cant for the life of me figure out how to get the spry menu linking to the other html pages

I've looked at countless youtube tutorials and can't seem to find what i'm looking for, lots of tutorials on how to build the spry menu, but nothing on how to link it to the other pages on your site

Jiggles
04-05-2009, 07:01 PM
If you want you can send over the file to me at callumburns(at)me.com and i can see what i can do.

James
04-05-2009, 07:12 PM
thanks callum, e-mail sent

Jiggles
04-05-2009, 07:19 PM
Ok simple fix!

<li><a href="#">Item 1.1</a></li>

See where it has the "#" thats the URL to the file you want in you case adam.html where it says "Item 1.1" is what you want to show to the user for example Adam. So it looks like this:

<li><a href="adam.html">Adam</a></li>

Try it.

James
04-05-2009, 07:43 PM
thanks callum, that's linked to the page, but the spry menu is not there on the link to adam.html

what i'm trying to work out is when i link to the page, the page i link to will include the spry menu

Jiggles
04-05-2009, 07:58 PM
ah ok thats a bit more complicated as you have to paste the code into each file you want it to appear in or with PHP use the require function.

Penfold42
04-05-2009, 08:08 PM
WHOOSH.....all this has just gone straight over my bonce......:o

Jiggles
04-05-2009, 08:23 PM
Good! :p