PDA

View Full Version : Working tax credits??

STEVE HANLEY
18-11-2011, 10:03 PM
Wasn't sure where to put this. So money matters seemed good enough.

Does anyone on here claim these? Against being self employed as a dj/disco business? If that makes sense:confused:

Was just wondering if anyone knew about these things and what it all entailed.

Any help or advice greatly appreciated good people.:beer1:

Solitaire Events Ltd
18-11-2011, 11:26 PM
http://taxcredits.hmrc.gov.uk/Qualify/WhatAreTaxCredits.aspx

Have a read of that Steve. You can then fill a few questions in to see if you qualify.

DazzyD
19-11-2011, 03:26 AM
Hi Steve

I work in local authority benefits and encounter Tax Credits on a daily basis although I am by no means an expert. However, if you want to know anything specific just ask and I'll help the best I can.

Generally, though, my advice is always to make a claim and see if you're entitled - at the very worst they send you a letter saying sorry. At best, you get extra cash which can, perhaps, be backdated so you could get a nice little surprise!

My site of choice for info is:

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/MoneyTaxAndBenefits/TaxCredits/index.htm

sxboy
19-11-2011, 06:38 AM
Wasn't sure where to put this. So money matters seemed good enough.

Does anyone on here claim these? Against being self employed as a dj/disco business? If that makes sense:confused:

Was just wondering if anyone knew about these things and what it all entailed.

Any help or advice greatly appreciated good people.:beer1:

Yeah I claim this, I used to get FAMILY tax credits as well, but as the "kids" are no longer kids,that has stopped, but still get the working one. As others have said, just put a claim in or give them a call, I know you here alot of horror stories about tax credits, like people being overpaid and having to pay back loads etc, but I have never had a problem, if you keep the informed of you circunstances it's fine.

Daren

djtrev
19-11-2011, 08:23 AM