PDA

View Full Version : Paying Yourself.

Craig - Dragon Discos
08-01-2012, 01:04 AM
It may be a daft question, but what's the best way to pay yourself?
I'm only in my second year as a declared sole trader and last year (and probably this year too) I made a loss due to investing in kit etc. until now, the only money I have taken out of the business is milage claims. If things go right I will be making a profit next year, so how do I pay myself from the business?
Let's say I wanted £200 (for round figures) do I just take £200 and put it in my books as wages? What about the tax on it? Would i be able to pay the tax (£40) out of the business acount too, or does that have to come from my personal account? I currently pay NI every 3 months (or is it 6 now?) and that comes out of the business account.
Also, if I can take the tax out of the business account, can I put it in a saver account until the tax bill is due? Ie. pay myself £200, then put £40 in a saver account until the following april and earn interest? But would this interest also be taxable?

Does any of what I have said make sense? It does in my head lol

Vectis
08-01-2012, 07:41 AM
Craig

Your entire post shows total naivety in all things tax and benefit related. I think you may be in for a few big surprises!

I would strongly advise you to make an appointment with a qualified accountant ASAP. Based on what you've written here they'll save you a fortune and be well worth their fee.

But one quick tip for the future - budget 30% for tax and NI not 20....

Craig - Dragon Discos
08-01-2012, 09:07 AM
I already have an accountant, but I admit I know next to nothing (hence the post) I only ask because I haven't taken any money as yet, everything I have earnt has been re-invested into the business

NKR
08-01-2012, 09:42 AM