PDA

View Full Version : Professionally made website or self made?

Shakermaker Promotions
29-03-2007, 04:26 PM
I've done one today, not as good as Beatroute's really but it will do. The thing is, I don't have any photos of my set ups which I aim to rectify over the next few weeks. I won't post a link to it just yet if that's ok.

Regarding websites etc... I did not have a clue how to do it all but as quoted above, it really is easy and almost "website by numbers"....I use Dreamweaver MX which is easy. You can either do it in code (which I am not good at) or the way which is almost as easy as typing on here and then just adding pictures, changing fonts, colours and text etc...it really is that easy. A domain name is mega cheap these days and so is webspace..I am with easyspace myself and have 500mb worth of space. There is so much stuff on my website but 90% of it is mainly text so it hardly takes up any room at all.

As far as I know (I've heard it said), there are far easier ways of doing your own website now and PC World even sell a thing called "Website in a box" or something? Mine isn't perfect but it does the job and far better than I could ever have wished for as I get plenty of enquiries out of it....I've heard my mates say that they have problems with their websites which are done properly. Some of them have had to wait ages for their webmasters / designers to update the site to their needs because they are busy and they also have to pay extra too. I can't be doing with all that so I made a point of learning the basics and it means that whenever I want to change or update it, I can...no need for waiting for anyone else to get off their backside and do it.