PDA

View Full Version : Hi from Cambs/Norfolk

Key2
01-07-2007, 10:09 PM
Hi All

My first posting so I'll start with a bit of background. I'm a complete newbie, in that I haven't EVER done a disco. (I can almost hear the keyboards clicking right now!!!). I'm 47 and I'm a driving instructor. I'm also chairman of my local instructors association (but NOT a 'stuffed shirt') which sometimes means making presentations to large groups of learner drivers, and experienced instructors. The point is...I don't have a problem with standing up in front of people and talking.
I really love music and from watching plenty of mobile discos, I think I know what makes the right balance of talking and playing. I want to cut down on my driving instruction hours so that I can spend more time at home mid-week.
My original plan was to do music quiz nights, a mixture of 'presentations' and music, but I'm now thinking of giving myself other options. I will be reading through the various postings and maybe some of you will be willing to give me some positive advice. I look forward to being part of the forum.

John:)

Shaun
01-07-2007, 10:21 PM
Hi John, nice to have you here. You've come to the right place to pick up some tricks of the trade. Don't be afraid to jump right on in and ask questions.

Enjoy the forum.

Penfold42
01-07-2007, 10:33 PM
Hi John..
Hello and welcome...
Pull up a chair...:beer1: :beer1:

Key2
02-07-2007, 07:44 AM
Hi Again

Thanks Shaun and Tony for the prompt reply!
I've been self-employed for many years, and always in competetive markets, and I NEVER try to get work by under-cutting other peoples' prices. I think it's better to provide a top quality service and charge accordingly. I've had a look at Tonys website and, if I read it right (£50 + £25 per hour etc.) then someone wanting a disco to run from 7pm to midnight would be paying for seven hours. An hour to get set up, another hour to pack away again, plus the time 'at work' so-to-speak = £225.