Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Full time job?

Default Full time job?

Hi
    Not totally sure this is the right section but here goes... I'm fairly new to mobile disco's but already I'm struck by the huge amount of competition, there's over 30 companies within approx 30 mile radius of me!
    I know some of you guy's have managed to go full time with the DJing and really I'm wondering how you manage it?, is running quiz night's and karoke aswell an important part? are you multi operators etc etc

now I appreciate this is a nosy question! but i ask it as I'm trapped as a lorry driver/delivery driver and hate it, don't wanna go to uni or college and couldnt afford to stop working to do so, I like doing the Disco's and I'm trying to see how viable it would be to put all my eggs in that basket, so to speak. thanks!

You will probably get lots of replies to this question.
    I don't think there is THE answer but I can tell you what I think personally.

You have a full time job firstly. Keep hold of it. Don't give up on one thing to pursue another if you already know what the competition is like out there.
    Do some local market research into pricing. Ease yourself in there by doing Discos when you can and see how you cope doing both.
    If you are new to it all I would personally concentrate just on the Discos for now and not worry about other services just yet.

That's how I started out (don't know about anyone else?).
    I approached a number of local venues with an idea and it worked.
    A while back it was pretty easy to get midweek stuff too like Quiz Nights but a lot of places (pubs mainly) have their own people or stuff supplied by breweries so it's not so easy anymore. It WAS easy back then to say that you can DJ at the weekends and get a couple of midweek things but it's not so easy now.