Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.

Thread: Audio interface advice for a beginner

Question Audio interface advice for a beginner

Hi all.

I’m a musician in a wedding band and I occasionally DJ.

I’ve had some trouble playing audio out of the 3.5mm audio output of my MacBook lately. I’d like to continue playing audio from my MacBook but switch between this and my DJ controller (Traktor Kontrol S2 first generation). So I think I may need an audio interface.

The Traktor controller communicates to my laptop via USB and has audio (phono?) outputs. I’d quite like an interface that has XLR outputs for the audio from my laptop. But realise this means 2 USB connections so may cause some issues(?). Honestly not sure though! Not entirely sure if a mixer is required either…

I don’t want to buy the wrong thing. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Hello and welcome Hywel. Do feel free to pop across to Newbies and tell us a little bit more about yourself, we're a nosy lot.

Re your audio question, I'm not a Mac person, but there are plenty here who are. I'm sure someone will have a good idea for you. I personally have a Peavey mixer which has a USB sound connection, although I've never used it, as far as I can remember. That would take care of the sound from the Mac, and has XLR outs. As far as taking a second USB to the controller, well that's well out of my area of expertise, sorry.
    Excalibur. Older than the average DJ.

www.excaliburmobiledisco.co.uk

I may be mis-interpreting this one (not unusual), but WHY does the audio need to come from the MacBook?

Your solution could be as easy as something like this phono (from the Traktor) to XLR converter

Quote Originally Posted by Imagine View Post
    I may be mis-interpreting this one (not unusual), but WHY does the audio need to come from the MacBook?